Clwyd South lies entirely within the old county of Clwyd in North-East Wales, with around two-thirds in Wrexham county borough and the remainder in Denbighshire.

The constituency has a population of approximately 70,000 and stretches north-south from Brymbo, where one of the region’s biggest steelworks once stood, to Chirk and east-west from Bronington near the Shropshire border to Llandrillo, making it one of Wales’s largest in terms of area.

Other major towns and communities in Clwyd South include Cefn Mawr, Coedpoeth, Corwen, Johnstown, Llangollen, Rhosllanerchrugog – home to The Stiwt theatre – and Ruabon.

Two beautiful valleys, the Dee and Ceiriog, cut through the constituency and provide rich veins of tourism potential. The latter was where the Battle of Crogen took place in 1165, which saw King Henry II’s army forced to retreat by brave Welsh soldiers.

The tourism sector is particularly key for Clwyd South. Farming is also an important industry and the public sector is a big employer, while there remain high levels of manufacturing jobs.

Major companies include Europe’s leading trailer maker Ifor Williams in Cynwyd, wood panel manufacturer Kronospan in Chirk and Minera-based Village Bakery. Llangollen is also home to the world famous International Musical Eisteddfod and the recently-restored railway line to Corwen. The constituency also contains Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse.

Clwyd South also boasts two National Trust sites at Chirk Castle and Erdigg Hall, as well as the 200-year-old Pontcysyllte Aqueduct – the first transnational UNESCO World Heritage Site which stretches for 11 magical miles through some of the most important industrial heritage in the world.

The Stiwt is a prominent venue for Welsh language arts, and communities such as Glyn Ceiriog and Corwen continue to offer a strong cultural identity.

Clwyd South offers a bit of everything – and has much to celebrate.